Iris Van Herpen

This is the first time I feature the incredibly talented Iris Van Herpen, but through my career she has become one of my favorite designers and lends me a great deal of visual inspiration, She just makes me feel terrible frustrated in every one of  her collection.

Complex designs, a mix between couture, puzzle, technology, craft, art…. very far from fashion…. Fashion and trend I think are word that goes together. She is an sculptor, pieces that are designed for them self, not to dress a person. And only trying to see mentally the way she works makes me have a headache!

I want to show you here her SS11 couture collection which was inspired by digital technology. Where there is headgear made of computer and music parts, such as speakers and computer air conditioning units, designed by the historical millinery designer Stephen Jones, to top off this futuristic collection.

Whilst everything does look very digitised, to me, it also looks extremely organic, like if the same HR Giger had collaborate with them also.

C’mon! Is impossible haven’t get a bit shock with this pieces!

Always trying to surprise you

Ambel

639216

639234

639306

639360

639369

639405

639414

639423

639432

Images Dazed Digital.

 

This entry was posted in Arquitectura, Arte general, Designer/Disenador. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment